St John in the Wilderness Church Building
The present building, which is Grade II* listed, is possibly the third on the site, and is mid-14th century – mid-15th century.
The church is ‘Perpendicular’ in style, although substantially rebuilt in the 1920s-1930s, and re-ordered, to provide modern facilities, in 2002-2005.
The building comprises a 14th century tower (containing a single 17th century bell), and a nave and chancel divided by arcading from a north - or ‘Lady’ – aisle, covered by ‘wagon’ roofs. A surviving door in the south-east corner of the nave indicates the previous existence of a now long-vanished rood screen.
Further historic features include a circa 15th century stone font, a fine example of a circa 15th century ‘green man’, and a unique pair of roof bosses, dated 1936, commemorating the uncrowned king, Edward VIII.